Past Recipients of the GLFC Vernon Applegate Award for Outstanding Contributions to Sea Lamprey Control

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2016	Bob Adair	For masterfully leading the U.S. Sea Lamprey Control Program from 2007-2015; for coordinating efforts of approximately 100 FWS employees working across 5 Great Lakes and in partnership with Fisheries and Oceans Canada; and for outstanding work to drive sea lamprey populations to the lowest levels they have been in decades.
2015	Rod McDonald	For outstanding work in advancing lampricide treatment techniques, for fostering significant advances in adult assessment, and for using cutting-edge science to improve the design and deployment of traps.
2014	Ellie Koon	For advancing sea lamprey control by developing and overseeing the U.S. sea lamprey barrier program for 10 years and by planning, implementing, leading, and improving lampricide applications to control invasive sea lampreys for 19 years.
2013	Brad Young	For work ensuring successful and innovative sea lamprey control treatments throughout the Lake Champlain and Great Lakes basins; for continually connecting with stakeholders to communicating lamprey control successes; and for being an invaluable leader for protecting Lake Champlain and Great Lakes fisheries through steadily reducing sea lamprey populations.
<u>2009</u>	Robert Young	For providing positive leadership while continually challenging conventional sea lamprey management techniques and for helping create and refine clear management goals and methods for sea lamprey control in the Great Lakes.
<u>2007</u>	Jean Adams	For providing statistical support and scientifically sound analyses to most every professional member of the Sea Lamprey Control Program in both countries.
<u>2006</u>	Joe Genovese David Haight Jerome Keen	For efforts above and beyond their duties to keep the public, the media, and politicians informed about the sea lamprey control program.
<u>2005</u>	John Heinrich	For his many outstanding contributions to the sea lamprey control program, including contributions to research, adult assessment, larval assessment, and the sterile-male-release-technique.
<u>2004</u>	Mike Jones	For his outstanding work in organizing the SLIS II symposium and preparing the papers for publication.
<u>2003</u>	Roger Bergstedt Doug Cuddy Mike Fodale	For development, implementation, and assessment of the highly successful sea lamprey control effort on the St. Marys River.

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2002	Dorance Brege Wayne Westman	For years of dedicated service to the sea lamprey control program
2001	Vic Gillman	For his contributions to the sea lamprey program throughout the 1990s and for help in developing the St. Marys River control strategy.
<u>2000</u>	Mike Twohey	For development and successful implementation of the innovative sterile-male-release-technique for sea lamprey control.